The View From Here: Finally Entering the “Real” World

   Getting older, as well as closer to graduation, I start to realize some things that are haunting me about becoming an official “adult.” I will be obtaining a college degree, but what if I can’t find a job where my degree is actually put to use? Even more of a haunting idea: what if I can’t find a “real job” at all?
   I’ve slowly learned over the last few years that no matter what happens after I finish school, I will be okay. I shouldn’t expect to get a job right away after school, and I might not even be sure what I want to do—but it’s not like it’s something that doesn’t happen to anyone else.
   Some people get jobs right out of school, others work retail for five years until they end up finding the job of their dreams. As long as we work hard and strive for what we want, eventually, we will have something better. Of course, how easily and where we find work will depend on our degree and the field we want to work in. We have to understand that in order to find the kind of work we want we will have to possibly make some sacrifices.
   With all of that being said, some of us may never have a “big kid job” ever in our lives. Some of us may decide we want to focus on being a parent while our significant other leaves to work every day. We also may go the route of starting our own business or something else of that nature and being our own bosses, essentially creating our own job.
   Honestly, though, if we’re happy and able to support ourselves as waitresses, store clerks, and the like, then who says we can’t do that for the rest of our lives?

Some people get jobs right out of school, others work retail for five years until they end up finding the job of their dreams. As long as we work hard and strive for what we want, eventually we will have something better.
Courtney Sronce, NSU Senior

   I’m sure it sounds cliché, but think about it. Why does it matter to other people what we do as long as we are happy and able to  take care of ourselves and those who depend on us?
   For me, it seems like the biggest worry is that even if I do find a job, it will be somewhere I do not find ideal. It could be my dream job, but that doesn’t mean the place I have to live in order to go to work every day will be a place I don’t hate. Some people are okay with that and are happy as long as they can do what they love, but I feel like I need the whole package.
   That being said, I know I most likely won’t get the “whole package” right away. Who does? I may have to work a few years in a town I dislike in order to get experience in a field I love because that was the best job opening I could find in my dream field.
   To those of you reading this, whether this is your last semester or you’re just starting your time at Northern and afraid of what the future might hold for you, or you’re a faculty or staff  member who doesn’t actually feel quite sure this job or place is right for them, just know that you are ultimately in control of where you are and what you do with your life; be it career wise or anything else.
   Yes, there are some things that are inevitable, but it’s our reactions to those things and the decisions we make because of them that will get us where we want to go.
   If you’re unsure of how good you are or how well you might do in the real world please remember, you’re probably better and more qualified than you realize. I’m finally starting to figure that out for myself a little more each day.


cscronce
Courtney Sronce
STAFF COLUMNIST

