The View From Here: I Am A Warrior Goddess

   I, like many others, would like to become more comfortable and accepting of myself. I would also like to become better at standing up for myself and what I deserve. In the past, I was passive about nearly everything in my life.
   Over the 2015-16 winter break, I found the book Warrior Goddess Training: Become the Woman You Are Meant to Be, by Heather Ash Amara. It  uses a number of different philosophies to help show women how to “release the layers of expectations to finally see yourself for the authentic, perceptive, perfect woman you really are.”
   I have been taking my sweet time reading this book and doing exercises in its companion workbook over the last year, and I have to say that it has helped me more than I may realize.
   I do not need to be passive and just let things happen as they may. I can take hold of my life and make decisions for myself. If I am unhappy with a situation or simply don’t want to do something, I say “no” and explain why. I am also learning to be more comfortable with who I am. I may sometimes think I’m a little more squishy than I would like, but I also know that I’m also pretty dang cute. It doesn’t matter if other people don’t agree, because this is about how I see and value myself.

We can’t control everything, but we can work to feel confident in our actions and how we react to things we do not have the ability to control.

– Courtney Sronce

   With chapters like “Commit to You,” “Claim Your Strength and Ignite Your Will,” and “Speak Your Truth,” we get a look into ways we can be a better version of ourselves. Not necessarily how we can change who we are, but how we can start embracing who we are without being ashamed, how to work with what we have, and learn how amazing it all really is.
   Amara perfectly her book when she says, “If you don’t love and honor yourself with every fiber of your being, if you struggle with owning your power and passion, if you could use more joyful play and simple presence in your life, it is time to claim your Warrior Goddess energy.” Taking control of myself and being authentically who I am is important to me. Let’s be honest, though, I struggle to do this wholeheartedly. I want so badly to embrace my inner Warrior Goddess, but I know I have a long road ahead of me.
   Amara explains Warrior energy as “a combination of focus, dedication, purpose, and determination.” Consciously bringing these together gives us our power. When we “harness our warrior energy we are confident, clear, and bring 100 percent of ourselves into each action.” She goes on, explaining Goddess energy as “our creative flow: unconditional love, pleasure, passion, and wisdom. When we claim our goddess energy we live in joyful self-acceptance and self-respect, and we listen to our sacred inner voice.” Who wouldn’t want to achieve these things?
   Nobody is perfect, but I also find peace in knowing I am constantly able to work on myself to become who I really want to be and the way I present myself in society.
   We can’t control everything, but we can work to feel confident in our actions and how we react to things we do not have the ability to control.
   After all, fighting for what we want, what we deserve, and being genuine sounds pretty great to me.


cscronce
Courtney Sronce
STAFF COLUMNIST


