The View From Here: Saying Goodbye

Picture21   Saying goodbye is hard, but we all have to do it at some point. This week I graduate and say goodbye to Northern State University, although it may be more of a “see you later” than a goodbye.
   I will not be coming back to Northern for academics, but I do plan to return to Aberdeen and visit the campus whenever I feel like it.
   College has been hard. It has been great, and it has also sucked, but in the end, I am so happy I came to college and did not quit when things got really hard or when I felt like this was the wrong thing for me.
   My freshman year at Northern, I was much more overwhelmed than I expected to be, and I realized that I had chosen a major that did not make me happy. Thinking back on it now, I realize how obvious it was that I should have been an English major from the beginning, and since I switched my major to English, college has been a lot more enjoyable and rewarding.
   Anyway, this weekend I say goodbye to Northern State University and to my college career. I have learned and experienced so much that will be with me forever.

I know sometimes I may sound really cliché, but there truly is so much out there for us, and I am so excited, because I know I cannot wait to grab on and experience the ride.

– Courtney Sronce, NSU Senior

   I know I was not the best student these last five years and that I struggled a lot, but I can truly say I am proud of myself for making it this far.
   As much as I have struggled with school in the past, I think I might actually miss it here at Northern.
   The world is a great big place, and I feel like I am about to finally experience it for the first time. Even though I hope to end up back in Aberdeen after a few months, I am happy in knowing that there is still a lot here for me to experience in this one town.
   I am so happy and excited for my peers who will also be graduating and the students who will be graduating in the years to come as well.
   Hopefully, our time at Northern has better prepared us for life in some way, even if we do not end up going into a big fancy career field or if our lives do not end up going the way we always plan.
   I know sometimes I may sound really cliché, but there truly is so much out there for us, and I am so excited, because I know I cannot wait to grab on and experience the ride. I know I still have a lot of failing to do, but I like to think I will also be successful in many other aspects of my life at the same time.
   I want to thank you all for reading what I have written for you this semester. I am so not the best writer by any means and writing hasn’t really been my thing, but I have learned so much just from this experience.
   I appreciate any or all of you who have gone on this journey with me this semester.
   Whether you have read one of my columns, or all of them throughout this past semester, I wanted to thank you.
   In just a few days I will officially be a college graduate, and I cannot even begin to explain to you all how happy and how excited I am for all the adventures in the future. Thank you for everything, Northern State University. While it may seem like a goodbye for right now, it is only a “see you later!”.
Picture20


cscronce
Courtney Sronce
STAFF COLUMNIST



Photo courtesy Public Domain Pictures.